Merrickville Blockhouse Museum

The Merrickville Blockhouse Museum was built by Col. By to protect the Rideau Canal from possible invasion. Upon completion in 1832, the threat of invasion had ended and the blockhouse was converted into a home for the lockmaster – Sgt. Johnston – and his family. Since then, the blockhouse has been used as a church and storage facility, and now houses a variety of fascinating exhibits depicting the evolution of life in Merrickville-Wolford.

  • Merrickville Blockhouse Museum

  • Merrickville Blockhouse Museum

  • Merrickville Blockhouse Museum

Contact

The Merrickville Blockhouse Museum is closed during the Winter, but open from Spring until Fall. Parking is available at Blockhouse Park, which is accessible from Main Street.

Contact Information

279 St. Lawrence Street
Merrickville

Hours: Open 12:00pm to 4:00pm on Saturdays and Sundays (May 18 until mid-June)
10:00am to 6:00pm 7 days/week (Mid-June to September 2)
12:00pm to 4:00pm on Saturdays and Sundays (September 7 to October 14)


Still have questions?

Visit website

Merrickville Blockhouse Museum

279 St Lawrence St, Merrickville, ON, Canada

View larger map

Travel Tips

202 kilometres of adventure awaits. Explore our helpful resources to simplify your trip planning.

Start Planning